Is Pasta Vegan?

Most commercially produced pastas you find in American grocery stores are in fact vegan.  However, there are a few things to look out for...

You always want to read the ingredients when purchasing a new brand of pasta.  Ingredients to look out for are: eggs, egg whites, and sometimes "squid ink" for dark pasta varieties.

Common brands of pasta that are "accidentally" vegan are:  Barilla, Colavita, Divella, DeCecco (not yellow box line), San Giorgio (not their oven-ready line), Ronzoni (not the oven-ready lasagna and spinach fettuccine), & many store brands!

Moral of the story: There are plenty of vegan-friendly pasta brands at your local grocery store.  Always check the ingredients when buying new pasta, but you'll find plenty of options!

Want more vegan-friendly pasta options?  Check out our complete vegan pasta brands list!